contact us  
                    contact us | site map           text size

 

IHC News
Sun, July 16 2017 – Fri, July 21 2017
Idaho Teachers Invited to Attend Summer Institute on Wallace Stegner
Idaho teachers are invited to apply to attend the IHC's 2017 summer institute exploring the theme "Wallace Stegner and the Consciousness of Place."
contact: Cindy Wange
phone: (208) 345-5346
location: Boise State University, 1910 University Dr., Boise, ID
Thu, April 20 2017
Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Anthony Doerr to speak in Idaho Falls, April 20
Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Anthony Doerr will deliver IHC's 10th Annual Eastern Idaho Distinguished Humanities Lecture on Thursday, April 20.
Thu, April 13 2017
National Book Award winner Timothy Egan to speak in Twin Falls, April 13
National Book Award winner Timothy Egan will deliver the IHC's 3rd Annual Magic Valley Distinguished Humanities Lecture on Thursday, April 13.
Wed, March 29 2017 at 7:00 PM
IHC to Honor Susan Swetnam for Outstanding Achievement in the Humanities
The IHC will honor ISU Professor Emeritus Susan Swetnam with the “Outstanding Achievement in the Humanities” award at a wine/dessert reception and ceremony on March 29.
Thu, February 23 2017 at 6:00 PM
The Time of the Lambing and Shearing
Featuring the work of photojournalist Jan Boles. Read on for more details.
sponsor: Basque Museum Cultural Center
location: Basque Museum Cultural Center, 611 Grove St., Boise, ID
Thu, February 9 2017 – Thu, May 4 2017
2017 Read Me Treasure Valley
For more details of this event, please read on.
sponsor: Ada Community Library Victory Branch
contact: Mary DeWalt
phone: (208) 362-0181
Mon, December 12 2016
US Bank Foundation Supports the Smithsonian in Idaho
The U.S. Bank Foundation supports the 2016-2017 tour of the traveling Smithsonian Institution exhibition Water/Ways in Idaho.
Thu, November 17 2016
IHC Welcomes Four New Board Members
The Idaho Humanities Council recently welcomed four new members to its 18-member Board of Directors.
Wed, November 2 2016
IHC Publishes Anthology on Idaho Wilderness
The Idaho Humanities Council announces publication of Idaho Wilderness Considered anthology.
Fri, October 28 2016
Listen to Jon Meacham on Idaho Public Television's Dialogue
Jon Meacham visited Boise on October 13 for IHC's 20th Distinguished Humanities Lecture and Dinner. He took some time out of his schedule to visit with Marcia Franklin on her show Dialogue.
Sat, May 28 2016 – Sun, March 12 2017
Smithsonian exhibition on 'water' to tour Idaho 2016-2017
The Idaho Humanities Council will bring a Smithsonian traveling exhibition titled Water/Ways to six Idaho communities in 2016-2017.
small med large