contact us  
                    contact us | site map           text size


Pulitzer Prize-winning Novelist Anthony Doerr to Speak in Idaho Falls, April 20

Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Anthony Doerr, of Boise, author of All the Light We Cannot See, will deliver Idaho Humanities Council’s 10th Annual Eastern Idaho Distinguished Humanities Lecture and Dinner on Thursday, April 20, 2017, 7 p.m., at the Shilo Inn in Idaho Falls.

THIS EVENT IS SOLD OUT! The evening will begin with a no-host reception at 6 p.m. at the Shilo Inn. Dinner will be served at 7 p.m. with Doerr’s talk to follow. Seating is assigned in advance. Doerr’s books will be available from Barnes and Noble onsite and he’ll be available for signing afterwards. 

The event is generously supported by Bank of Idaho, Teton Toyota and Volkswagen, Idaho Public Television, Idaho National Laboratory, KISU Radio, the Post-Register, the William J. and Shirley A. Maeck Family Foundation, and the City Club of Idaho Falls. 

Doerr’s novel All the Light We Cannot See, which won the 2015 Pulitzer Prize for fiction, has been on the New York Times Bestseller List since it first appeared in 2014—at this writing more than 132 weeks. The story of a blind French girl and an orphaned German boy, and how their paths eventually cross in occupied France during World War II has been praised and translated throughout the world. 

Doerr also is the author of the story collections The Shell Collector and Memory Wall, the memoir Four Seasons in Rome, and the novel About Grace

Doerr’s short stories and essays have won four O. Henry Prizes and been anthologized in The Best American Short Stories, New American Stories, The Best American Essays, The Scribner Anthology of Contemporary Fiction, and other anthologies. In addition to winning the Pulitzer Prize, he is also the recipient of the Rome Prize, the Barnes & Noble Discover Prize, a Guggenheim Fellowship, an NEA Fellowship, an Alex Award from the American Library Association, the National Magazine Award for Fiction, four Pushcart Prizes, the 2010 Story Prize, and more.

Since 2008, the IHC has brought top historians, journalists, and other prominent writers to Idaho Falls for the annual Distinguished Lecture. Previous speakers include presidential biographer Robert Dallek (2008), Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Laurel Thatcher Ulrich (2009), Western American historian Elliott West (2010), National Book Award winner Timothy Egan (2011), Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Rick Bragg (2012), best-selling author Alexandra Fuller (2013), Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Isabel Wilkerson (2014), Pulitzer Prize-winning writer Diane McWhorter (2015), and Pulitzer Prize-winning Vietnam War historian Fredrik Logevall in 2016.

small med large